Probation and supervised suspended sentences — Cork
671, latest 2024.
The count stood at 671 in 2024. That is 15.3% higher than a year earlier. That is the highest value in the published series, which begins in 2014. Its low point was 242 in 2020; the latest reading is 177% above that.
Show the numbers (11 periods)
| Period | Value |
|---|---|
| 2024 | 671 |
| 2023 | 582 |
| 2022 | 500 |
| 2021 | 347 |
| 2020 | 242 |
| 2019 | 326 |
| 2018 | 325 |
| 2017 | 303 |
| 2016 | 486 |
| 2015 | 485 |
| 2014 | 428 |
Before you use these figures
- County basis not stated: The Probation Service publishes these figures by county but does not say whether a county's figure counts orders made by courts sitting in that county or people living there. Counties with a large court centre may record cases from people who live elsewhere.
- Court decisions, not offending: These count decisions made by the courts, not crimes committed. They depend on how many cases come before the courts and on sentencing practice, as well as on offending.
- Latest figure: 2024 — 2 years old: This dataset is published annual and the publisher hasn't released anything newer. Nothing is missing from this page.
- Not adjusted for population: This figure — 671 — is well outside the typical range for other areas currently publishing this dataset (median about 67 across 25 other areas). This is a raw count, not adjusted for population — a larger area is expected to report a larger number regardless of anything unusual happening there. Not itself a sign of a data problem.
- Not adjusted for population, 2014: This area's 2014 figure was 428, well outside the typical range for other areas that reported for 2014 (median about 44 across 25 other areas). This figure is a raw count, not adjusted for population — a larger area is expected to report a larger number regardless of anything unusual happening there. Not itself a sign of a data problem.
Cite this figure:
Probation and supervised suspended sentences — Cork 671 for Cork, 2024 Caveats: County basis not stated; Court decisions, not offending; Latest figure: 2024 — 2 years old; Not adjusted for population; Not adjusted for population, 2014 StatsMapped last confirmed this figure unchanged on 23 Sep 2026. Source: The Probation Service https://statsmapped.com/ireland/county/cork/probation-supervision-orders-cork