Tender awards — category overview
What kinds of public-procurement contracts were awarded in the last 12 months, in aggregate — by category, competition type and threshold level. Individual awards are on the search and browse page; this page is the high-level shape, not the row-level detail.
Supplier identity is never aggregated on this page — a winning bidder's name is often a person's name, not a company's, so it follows the same registered-access rule as the browse page's supplier search (see below), by design, not by omission.
Last 12 months
Since October 2025: 14,280 awards worth £140,404,027,653 combined.
Framework agreements can dominate a year's total: A large share of awarded value comes from framework agreements, whose published value is often the framework's ceiling — the maximum that can be drawn down over its full, often multi-year, lifetime — rather than money spent in the year it was awarded. Checked directly against real data: a single council's own largest year can be dominated by framework agreements alone. A single large framework can make one year look far larger than its neighbours without that reflecting actual annual spend.
Currently open right now
Live tender opportunities aren't tracked for the UK yet — separately from the completed awards above, this would show still-open opportunities to bid on, not a record of what already happened.
Top categories by value
| CPV category | Value | Contracts | Typical award |
|---|---|---|---|
| Construction work | £17,128,478,155 | 422 | £2,820,351 |
| Health and social work services | £9,027,936,847 | 864 | £995,077 |
| Radio, television, communication, telecommunication and related equipment | £8,420,942,750 | 32 | £2,052,500 |
| Information systems or technology strategic review and planning services | £5,011,216,667 | 5 | £5,000,000 |
| Social work services with accommodation | £3,916,401,468 | 112 | £1,404,000 |
| Pharmaceutical products | £3,764,816,766 | 104 | £1,000,000 |
| Transport services (excl. Waste transport) | £3,327,785,971 | 99 | £316,628 |
| Education and training services | £2,586,269,502 | 381 | £476,500 |
| Sound or visual signalling apparatus | £2,500,000,000 | 1 | £2,500,000,000 |
| IT services: consulting, software development, Internet and support | £2,389,284,967 | 276 | £617,634 |
A hollow bar marks a category built from 2 or fewer tenders — its total can be almost entirely one large framework agreement, not a genuine spending pattern across many contracts.
Top 10 of 2,040 categories by value, accounting for 42% of £138,170,858,259 in categorised awards.
Competition type
| Competition type | Value | Contracts |
|---|---|---|
| open | £100,674,601,417 | 8,886 |
| selective | £30,815,424,002 | 1,690 |
| direct | £8,660,371,221 | 3,015 |
| limited | £107,117,378 | 448 |
| Not recorded | £146,513,635 | 241 |
Threshold level
| Threshold level | Value | Contracts |
|---|---|---|
| Open procedure | £75,480,186,521 | 6,429 |
| Competitive flexible procedure | £44,672,266,056 | 1,995 |
| Award under framework | £8,798,608,317 | 602 |
| Direct award | £7,776,624,387 | 1,937 |
| Call-off from a framework agreement | £2,092,321,967 | 200 |
| Below threshold - without competition | £873,269,334 | 1,066 |
| Below threshold - open competition | £411,627,346 | 1,186 |
| Below threshold - unknown | £107,189,640 | 139 |
| Below threshold - limited competition | £106,607,536 | 438 |
| Below threshold - award under framework | £19,032,631 | 109 |
| Not applicable | £16,815,835 | 4 |
| Other - Not Specified | £12,055,536 | 10 |
| Call-off from a dynamic purchasing system | £12,032,720 | 32 |
| Single tender action (below threshold) | £10,477,500 | 12 |
| Not specified | £3,609,884 | 43 |
| Other - | £2,677,159 | 33 |
| Other - Further competition from a framework | £2,250,000 | 1 |
| Restricted procedure (above threshold) | £1,940,235 | 11 |
| Other - Direct Award via Framework | £1,475,728 | 7 |
| Open procedure (above threshold) | £1,155,920 | 2 |
| Competitive quotation (below threshold) | £509,843 | 10 |
| Restricted procedure | £432,706 | 4 |
| Open procedure (below threshold) | £356,000 | 5 |
| Other - Direct Award | £350,853 | 2 |
| Below threshold - by reference to dynamic market | £65,000 | 1 |
| Other - Direct Award - Short Form | £50,000 | 1 |
| Other - Direct Award off a non NH Framework | £39,000 | 1 |
Contract type
| Contract type | Value | Contracts |
|---|---|---|
| services | £90,327,099,576 | 9,559 |
| works | £29,708,604,756 | 1,590 |
| goods | £18,135,153,927 | 2,697 |
| Not recorded | £2,233,169,393 | 434 |
Single-bid contracts
In the last 12 months, 987 of 9,769 contracts with a recorded bid count (10%) had only one bid. See these contracts → The single-bid-rate ranking shows a different figure for the same measure — it uses a fixed calendar year, not the trailing 12 months shown here.
Browse by council
All-time totals, one page per council.
Based on the 11% of all award rows in the last 12 months with a single council identified — the rest (national frameworks and non-council awarding bodies) are not attributed to one council and so are not reflected in any single page below.
- Aberdeen City
- Aberdeenshire
- Adur
- Amber Valley
- Angus
- Antrim and Newtownabbey
- Ards and North Down
- Argyll and Bute
- Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon
- Arun
- Ashfield
- Ashford
- Babergh
- Barking and Dagenham
- Barnet
- Barnsley
- Basildon
- Basingstoke and Deane
- Bassetlaw
- Bath and North East Somerset
- Bedford
- Belfast
- Bexley
- Birmingham
- Blaby
- Blackburn with Darwen
- Blackpool
- Blaenau Gwent
- Bolsover
- Bolton
- Boston
- Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole
- Bracknell Forest
- Bradford
- Braintree
- Breckland
- Brent
- Brentwood
- Bridgend
- Brighton and Hove
- Bristol, City of
- Broadland
- Bromley
- Bromsgrove
- Broxbourne
- Broxtowe
- Buckinghamshire
- Burnley
- Bury
- Caerphilly
- Calderdale
- Cambridge
- Camden
- Cannock Chase
- Canterbury
- Cardiff
- Carmarthenshire
- Castle Point
- Causeway Coast and Glens
- Central Bedfordshire
- Ceredigion
- Charnwood
- Chelmsford
- Cheltenham
- Cherwell
- Cheshire East
- Cheshire West and Chester
- Chesterfield
- Chichester
- Chorley
- City of Edinburgh
- City of London
- Clackmannanshire
- Colchester
- Conwy
- Cornwall
- Cotswold
- County Durham
- Coventry
- Crawley
- Croydon
- Cumberland
- Dacorum
- Darlington
- Dartford
- Denbighshire
- Derby
- Derbyshire Dales
- Derry City and Strabane
- Doncaster
- Dorset
- Dover
- Dudley
- Dumfries and Galloway
- Dundee City
- Ealing
- East Ayrshire
- East Cambridgeshire
- East Devon
- East Dunbartonshire
- East Hampshire
- East Hertfordshire
- East Lindsey
- East Lothian
- East Renfrewshire
- East Riding of Yorkshire
- East Staffordshire
- East Suffolk
- Eastbourne
- Eastleigh
- Elmbridge
- Enfield
- Epping Forest
- Epsom and Ewell
- Erewash
- Exeter
- Falkirk
- Fareham
- Fenland
- Fermanagh and Omagh
- Fife
- Flintshire
- Folkestone and Hythe
- Forest of Dean
- Fylde
- Gateshead
- Gedling
- Glasgow City
- Gloucester
- Gosport
- Gravesham
- Great Yarmouth
- Greenwich
- Guildford
- Gwynedd
- Hackney
- Halton
- Hammersmith and Fulham
- Harborough
- Haringey
- Harlow
- Harrow
- Hart
- Hartlepool
- Hastings
- Havant
- Havering
- Herefordshire, County of
- Hertsmere
- High Peak
- Highland
- Hillingdon
- Hinckley and Bosworth
- Horsham
- Hounslow
- Huntingdonshire
- Hyndburn
- Inverclyde
- Ipswich
- Isle of Anglesey
- Isle of Wight
- Isles of Scilly
- Islington
- Kensington and Chelsea
- King's Lynn and West Norfolk
- Kingston upon Hull, City of
- Kingston upon Thames
- Kirklees
- Knowsley
- Lambeth
- Lancaster
- Leeds
- Leicester
- Lewes
- Lewisham
- Lichfield
- Lincoln
- Lisburn and Castlereagh
- Liverpool
- Luton
- Maidstone
- Maldon
- Malvern Hills
- Manchester
- Mansfield
- Medway
- Melton
- Merthyr Tydfil
- Merton
- Mid Devon
- Mid Suffolk
- Mid Sussex
- Mid Ulster
- Mid and East Antrim
- Middlesbrough
- Midlothian
- Milton Keynes
- Mole Valley
- Monmouthshire
- Moray
- Na h-Eileanan Siar
- Neath Port Talbot
- New Forest
- Newark and Sherwood
- Newcastle upon Tyne
- Newcastle-under-Lyme
- Newham
- Newport
- Newry, Mourne and Down
- North Ayrshire
- North Devon
- North East Derbyshire
- North East Lincolnshire
- North Hertfordshire
- North Kesteven
- North Lanarkshire
- North Lincolnshire
- North Norfolk
- North Northamptonshire
- North Somerset
- North Tyneside
- North Warwickshire
- North West Leicestershire
- North Yorkshire
- Northumberland
- Norwich
- Nottingham
- Nuneaton and Bedworth
- Oadby and Wigston
- Oldham
- Orkney Islands
- Oxford
- Pembrokeshire
- Pendle
- Perth and Kinross
- Peterborough
- Plymouth
- Portsmouth
- Powys
- Preston
- Reading
- Redbridge
- Redcar and Cleveland
- Redditch
- Reigate and Banstead
- Renfrewshire
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
- Ribble Valley
- Richmond upon Thames
- Rochdale
- Rochford
- Rossendale
- Rother
- Rotherham
- Rugby
- Runnymede
- Rushcliffe
- Rushmoor
- Rutland
- Salford
- Sandwell
- Scottish Borders
- Sefton
- Sevenoaks
- Sheffield
- Shetland Islands
- Shropshire
- Slough
- Solihull
- Somerset
- South Ayrshire
- South Cambridgeshire
- South Derbyshire
- South Gloucestershire
- South Hams
- South Holland
- South Kesteven
- South Lanarkshire
- South Norfolk
- South Oxfordshire
- South Ribble
- South Staffordshire
- South Tyneside
- Southampton
- Southend-on-Sea
- Southwark
- Spelthorne
- St Albans
- St. Helens
- Stafford
- Staffordshire Moorlands
- Stevenage
- Stirling
- Stockport
- Stockton-on-Tees
- Stoke-on-Trent
- Stratford-on-Avon
- Stroud
- Sunderland
- Surrey Heath
- Sutton
- Swale
- Swansea
- Swindon
- Tameside
- Tamworth
- Tandridge
- Teignbridge
- Telford and Wrekin
- Tendring
- Test Valley
- Tewkesbury
- Thanet
- Three Rivers
- Thurrock
- Tonbridge and Malling
- Torbay
- Torfaen
- Torridge
- Tower Hamlets
- Trafford
- Tunbridge Wells
- Uttlesford
- Vale of Glamorgan
- Vale of White Horse
- Wakefield
- Walsall
- Waltham Forest
- Wandsworth
- Warrington
- Warwick
- Watford
- Waverley
- Wealden
- Welwyn Hatfield
- West Berkshire
- West Devon
- West Dunbartonshire
- West Lancashire
- West Lindsey
- West Lothian
- West Northamptonshire
- West Oxfordshire
- West Suffolk
- Westminster
- Westmorland and Furness
- Wigan
- Wiltshire
- Winchester
- Windsor and Maidenhead
- Wirral
- Woking
- Wokingham
- Wolverhampton
- Worcester
- Worthing
- Wrexham
- Wychavon
- Wyre
- Wyre Forest
- York
Browse by category
All-time totals, one page per CPV category actually awarded against.
- Construction work (£29,737,794,617, 1,916 contracts)
- Health and social work services (£23,836,153,214, 2,008 contracts)
- Business services: law, marketing, consulting, recruitment, printing and security (£11,650,931,191, 1,757 contracts)
- IT services: consulting, software development, Internet and support (£9,636,964,489, 917 contracts)
- Medical equipments, pharmaceuticals and personal care products (£9,022,357,822, 737 contracts)
- Radio, television, communication, telecommunication and related equipment (£8,781,787,541, 138 contracts)
- Transport services (excl. Waste transport) (£6,113,093,626, 583 contracts)
- Electrical machinery, apparatus, equipment and consumables; lighting (£5,714,702,174, 243 contracts)
- Transport equipment and auxiliary products to transportation (£5,600,443,438, 542 contracts)
- Architectural, construction, engineering and inspection services (£4,859,195,937, 1,048 contracts)
- Petroleum products, fuel, electricity and other sources of energy (£4,855,374,199, 200 contracts)
- Education and training services (£4,148,890,898, 854 contracts)
- Software package and information systems (£4,115,446,346, 633 contracts)
- Repair and maintenance services (£4,085,123,984, 882 contracts)
- Office and computing machinery, equipment and supplies except furniture and software packages (£3,247,493,569, 173 contracts)
- Financial and insurance services (£3,132,530,536, 416 contracts)
- Furniture (incl. office furniture), furnishings, domestic appliances (excl. lighting) and cleaning products (£3,078,160,721, 263 contracts)
- Clothing, footwear, luggage articles and accessories (£2,935,048,199, 96 contracts)
- Sewage, refuse, cleaning and environmental services (£2,913,975,599, 816 contracts)
- Construction structures and materials; auxiliary products to construction (except electric apparatus) (£2,747,487,914, 387 contracts)
- Security, fire-fighting, police and defence equipment (£1,750,547,977, 158 contracts)
- Hotel, restaurant and retail trade services (£1,707,925,500, 238 contracts)
- Real estate services (£1,279,953,415, 153 contracts)
- Public utilities (£842,359,676, 35 contracts)
- Printed matter and related products (£811,673,201, 122 contracts)
- Recreational, cultural and sporting services (£723,434,758, 111 contracts)
- Administration, defence and social security services (£619,943,449, 207 contracts)
- Research and development services and related consultancy services (£587,965,274, 368 contracts)
- Agricultural, forestry, horticultural, aquacultural and apicultural services (£554,235,535, 420 contracts)
- Installation services (except software) (£537,407,756, 53 contracts)
- Supporting and auxiliary transport services; travel agencies services (£501,746,620, 107 contracts)
- Industrial machinery (£454,312,163, 232 contracts)
- Food, beverages, tobacco and related products (£377,685,927, 184 contracts)
- Laboratory, optical and precision equipments (excl. glasses) (£353,040,617, 212 contracts)
- Other community, social and personal services (£323,834,599, 285 contracts)
- Postal and telecommunications services (£274,603,385, 79 contracts)
- Agricultural, farming, fishing, forestry and related products (£254,451,992, 62 contracts)
- Pebbles and gravel (£249,802,530, 208 contracts)
- Chemical products (£247,641,141, 65 contracts)
- Polythene waste and refuse sacks and bags (£123,379,698, 17 contracts)
- Musical instruments, sport goods, games, toys, handicraft, art materials and accessories (£110,778,722, 87 contracts)
- Agricultural machinery (£65,989,966, 33 contracts)
- Machinery for mining, quarrying, construction equipment (£65,694,215, 61 contracts)
- Services related to the oil and gas industry (£5,111,467, 5 contracts)
- Drinking water (£1,178,441, 3 contracts)
Figures published by UK Find a Tender Service and Contracts Finder (OCDS award notices). Accessed 2026-10-18.